REACH

Resilience Education And Community Health

Purpose

The REACH Program works in partnership with Greater Oregon Behavioral Health, Inc. (GOBHI) and Umatilla County School Administrators to provide school-based mental health services for students who have emotional and behavioral challenges. These services can help provide relief from short-term symptoms and prevent long-term problems related to academic performance, difficulties with social and emotional issues, personal relationships, and family concerns.

REACH Staff aim to provide support and strategies to help improve the youths’ abilities to cope with the social, emotional, and family issues which would allow them to then be present in class, engage in learning, and increase positive learning environments. REACH is currently partnered with 8 school districts in Umatilla County. There are 30 schools receiving services for the 2017-2018 school year. Services are based on unique student demographics and needs. Services include assessment, intervention, consultation, skill building, training, and crisis intervention.

View the REACH Brochure here.

Referrals

REACH referrals are made by a school staff member (i.e. teacher, counselor, principal) and/or community partner. All services are voluntary in nature and youth are allowed to decline participation in REACH.

  • Level 1: Referrals are for students who would benefit from small group skills training and/or family outreach services.
  • Level 2: Referrals are designated for students who would benefit from individual skill building, risk assessment, mental health assessment and/or individual counseling services.
  • Level 3: Crisis intervention services are provided as on-call basis to every school REACH services in Umatilla County. Children already enrolled in higher levels of care services or may need a higher level of care will be referred to the outpatient program located near the school where the student attends for additional assessments and recommendations.

Lifeway’s REACH Staff 2017-2018*

Rory Schilling, MSW
Division Operations Manager
REACH Clinical Supervisor
Phone 541.567.2536
rschilling@lifeways.org
Jovanna Centre, BS
REACH Program Supervisor
Phone 541.276.6207
jcentre@lifeways.org
 Antonio Martinez, QMHA | CADC
REACH Milton-Freewater/Athena-Weston
tmartinez1@lifeways.org
Kristen Thompson-Graber, MS | QMHP
REACH Pendleton
kgraber@lifeways.org
Brandy Dougherty, BA, MEd. | QMHA
REACH Pendleton/Echo
bdougherty@lifeways.org
Najat Mounir, MSW | QMHP
REACH Milton-Freewater
nmounier@lifeways.org
Norman Valdez, QMHA
REACH Umatilla/Athena-Weston
nvaldez@lifeways.org
Krista Marksmeier, MSW | QMHP
REACH Umatilla/Athena-Weston
kmarksmeier@lifeways.org
Joe Dyer, QMHA
REACH Stanfield/Pendleton
jdyer@lifeways.org
Crystal Watson, MSW | QMHP
REACH Stanfield/Echo/Hermiston
cwatson@lifeways.org
Cheryl Swales, QMHA
REACH Pendleton
cswales@lifeways.org

* To get in touch with your district REACH staff member, please email them or contact the Hermiston or Pendleton Lifeways office. Most staff members carry cell phones and it is Lifeways policy that personal cell phone numbers are not released to clients.

Lifeway’s Office Locations

Hermiston
Lifeways Office
Pendleton
Lifeways Office
Umatilla County Crisis
Phone: 541.567.2536 Phone: 541.276.6207 Phone: 541.240.8030
Fax: 541.567.2362 Fax: 541.276.4628 Fax: 541.429.8777
GOBHI
Erin Rust, MA
School Based Program Coordinator, GOBHI
Statewide MHFA Project Coordinator and Trainer
Phone: 541-298-2101×1442 or 541-397-0542
Fax: 541-298-7996
erin.rust@gobhi.net